Thoughts 3

Hey guys!

It has been a while since I have written a new blog, so I figured I would do so today. As many of you know, I applied for the Community Manager position over at Riot back on May 18th. I have followed that up for the longest time. I did get a response from Riot Games about a week ago, which said the following:

“Thank you so much for your interest in the Community Assistant position at Riot Games.  We have reviewed your resume, and as the next step in our hiring process we would like you to complete a short online assessment measuring general problem solving skills.  This exercise takes approximately 20 minutes and we ask that you complete this within the next 48 hours.  Please follow the instructions below and feel free to contact me if you have any questions.”

So I went forth and did their assessment, however it was nothing like I expected. The questions were general questioned that you would be asked on a State Standardized test. It covered everything from: which number comes next, to conversions and things where they would give you a word and you had to pick the closest in definition or the opposite of it. So I treated this assessment as a state test – Which I NEVER once in my life failed a state quiz. Actually when I entered into high school my math state test scores where so good that I could have gone straight into Algebra 2, if I had wanted. However I had decided to take Geometry. Which was still better than where they had placed me in high school. Anyhow, back to topic..So I asked a friend at Riot how many questions they answered. Turns out they did a lot more than me. So I asked what was about average, he said about 80. At this point I got very nervous. First off, these questions were not based around the job I had applied for in the first place and then 80 was average for a 126 question assessment where you only had 20 minutes to do as many as possible? Now I know that they said “7. Your score is calculated based on the total number you get correct.  There is no penalty for guessing “, however I must sit here and wonder – Why should I guess? Isn’t it worth at least 30 seconds to think it over and do my best? I am almost positive that I did about a 90% accuracy rate on their assessment, however I only completed 48 questions.

So Thursday was about 1 week from when I had finished the assessment. I was starting to get very nervous and worried about my results to find this in my email as of yesterday:

“Hi Lori,

Thank you so much for your time and interest at Riot Games.  Unfortunately, we will not be able to offer you a position at this time.

The number of applicants in our pipeline right now far outweighs the positions available, and as such, we regret that even qualified candidates such as yourself must be cut early on in the evaluation process.

Again, we thank you for your time and wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

Warm regards”

Now I must admit that I did remove the name of the person who sent it to me, simply because that is not important…So I got this email last night and was just so upset. I actually finished cooking dinner and went to bed because I had started to cry. I have worked really hard on everything I have ever done in my life, even more so when it comes to something for the community and then I got that email. It makes me wonder, was there something I did not excel in? Was there a reason I didn’t even make it to telephone interview? I mean a silly assessment can only tell you so much about a person, don’t you guys agree? I feel that I should have at least had a phone interview, but nothing…

Anyhow, I just wanted to let people know since some of you saw my twitter status yesterday. I figured you guys at least deserved a full story and my blog deserved a new blog. So I didn’t get the job over at Riot Games, however I do not plan to change the activities I am doing. I am still going to continue working on giving back to the community. Well I am still pretty depressed about this, so I am going to post the picture that fits my mood for today and end the blog here. Thank you all for reading! Much love and never change guys!

(Edit: ~ After Thought: I know some people don’t like this artist, but today’s song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Z5-P9v3F8w&ob=av2e <- Never gonna give up; Never going to say I can’t do it!)

About Tesla

My name is Lori but most people know me as Tesla. I play video games, cast them and host tournaments/events. Want to know more about me? Then just ask ^^. http://www.bladeradio.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thoughts 3

  1. Dear Lori, I had the same problem that you did only the odds were very slim of me taking the position. Onece I volunteerd for the Russian Community Manager in the CCP corporation (the EVE Online guys), we’ll I’ve sent my CV then I was recommended to pass the test. Made all the translation tests, which were kinda complicated if youre not used to it, but anyway, the answer was the same. Well life goes on, I still have a goal, get all equip i need, get better in english and then start vloging, youtube’ing, streaming etc… Life goes on. And remember Lori, What not kill us, can only make us stronger (From rus: Все что нас не убивает, делает нас сильнее .Friedrich Nietzsche).

    Best regards
    EvilRussianBear aka Alexander Angelos aka Maelstom V

    • Tesla says:

      Thank you. Well I am not use to it/did not expect it because I have 6+ years of experience and I meet all their requirements. I know life goes on, its why I refuse to give up. If you need help with English, please let me know and good luck to you on what you wish to do with your life! ❤

  2. Masayume says:

    Hey Lori,

    I am really sad to hear this. I know just how bad you want to advance in your passion, and I really hope you recover from this fast and kick more hiney as a response. Since I am pretty much in the same boat, albeit with different setbacks, I sympathize with you a great deal.

    If you want to talk, you know where to find me. But for now I wish you strength, so you can keep climbing that ladder with renewed motivation. You WILL get there, you are too dedicated not to!

    Kind regards,
    Frank

    • Tesla says:

      Thank you so much for the support. It is a disappointment but I have no plans to let it stop me. If I need someone to talk to, I know exactly where to to turn to. So thank you again! ❤

  3. Jon says:

    Did they mention scheduling an interview in your email you received?
    I know you mentioned not getting a phone interview, and I’m in the same position right now.

    I took the assessment and definitely didn’t want to rush through (10 seconds per question if you want to get close), so I tried to work quickly while answering accurately. As a result, I ended up with a similar score as you. However, they also mentioned a phone interview in that same email.

    Did you have something similar? I’m hoping my approach to the assessment didn’t rule me out, but personally I feel taking an extra 10-15 seconds to answer correctly is better than quickly guessing through each question just to get a higher percentage of completion.

    • Tesla says:

      I wish I could say that it did, however it sounds like you have a much better chance then I did. This is what mine said:
      Hi Lori,
      Thank you so much for your interest in the Community Assistant position at Riot Games. We have reviewed your resume, and as the next step in our hiring process we would like you to complete a short online assessment measuring general problem solving skills. This exercise takes approximately 20 minutes and we ask that you complete this within the next 48 hours. Please follow the instructions below and feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

      1. Make sure you have a quiet space where you will not be interrupted.
      2. Have a piece of scrap paper handy.
      3. Make sure you have a browser with a Web connection. Internet Explorer or Netscape are the recommended browsers.
      4. Go to ***********
      5. Enter the unique username and password listed at the bottom of this message.
      6. You will have 20 minutes to complete the test. You might not finish all the questions, but try to work quickly and finish as many as you can.
      7. Your score is calculated based on the total number you get correct. There is no penalty for guessing.
      8. Do not discuss the items or answers with anyone while completing the assessment.

      Username: ***********
      Password: ***********

      Let me know if you have any questions. Thanks!

      Name
      Recruiting Coordinator
      email@email

      • Jon says:

        Thank you for taking the time to reply to my post.
        I was very excited when I got the email, and I took the test and felt pretty good about my score, knowing I answered most of them correctly.
        But when I read your blog, I admit I was a bit worried. But your response does make me feel a bit better, so I’ll just stay hopeful and focus on not failing an interview.
        And I saw you re-applied, so I’d just like to wish you good luck. You obviously know your stuff, and they’d be foolish to not hire you.

      • Tesla says:

        My pleasure! Thats how you do it! Never surrender, never give up! I wish you the best of luck. I haven’t reapplied yet, but I plan to. I will not give up. I know my that my place, at this moment, is in the community and helping support that community. I just need to be given my chance to do so. Good luck to you though! I hope you get the job. Please let me know how it goes for you!

  4. neblvn@gmail.com says:

    how were you able to follow up with them?

    • Tesla says:

      How was I able to follow up with them? Great question! A ton of determination. I sat there and contacted friends I had at Riot, I asked around for how to contact this person or asked if they could help me figure out the status of my application. I think by the time everything was said and done I had contacted at least, 5-6 staff members of Riot Games, just to get to the point of the quiz. ~ I did follow up a bit on twitter too. I hope that explains or helps you! Good luck if you are applying!

  5. Pingback: Update & Jaded | Tesla's Thoughts

  6. Everyone loves it when folks come together and share views.

    Great blog, continue the good work!

Leave a Reply

